Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is a lifeline?

 

Your lifeline is the person you are currently with. They will connect with your other friends you want to stay in touch with.  When your phone dies, your lifeline and other friends will be connected and able to text each other directly. To select your lifeline, click on the buoy on the bottom of your home page. 

 

How do I get my messages once my phone has died?

 

You can send and receive messages in the Balto app of the friend you selected as your lifeline. You will only receive messages from the other friends you have selected.

 

Do all my friends need Balto for it to work?

 

Yes everyone needs Balto. When you select a friend who does not have Balto, we'll send an automatic text with a link to download the app. Once they download Balto, you are good to go!

 

My friends haven’t responded to my lifeline. What’s going on?

 

Your lifeline must accept your request before your other friends receive any notifications. You can always give them some friendly encouragement if you haven’t heard anything.

 

How do I delete my account?

 

If you go to Settings > My Account, then tap on Delete Account.  

 

Who can see my messages?

 

When you select a friend, or multiple friends, it will start a private chat between your lifeline and that individual. There are no group chats if you select multiple contacts, only direct messages with the lifeline.

 

How long does my lifeline last?

 

The chat session with your lifeline and friends will expire after 12 hours.

 

How do I add a profile picture or change my username?

 

If you go to the settings button on the top right of the home screen, then "My Account", you can change your profile picture or your username. Beware that your username is how your friends of friends will recognize you and any unique name will make it harder for them to know who they're talking to.

 

How do I receive push notifications, or turn them off?

 

To add push notifications, go to Settings (upper right button on your homepage) > Notifications. 

 

How much does it cost?

 

Balto is completely free to download, and we provide you with five friends to reach out to. If you would like to select more friends we charge $.99 for each friend. The reason we charge is for development and maintenance cost to ensure you have the best and most reliable product.

 

Are my messages safe?

 

Your messages are completely safe and encrypted from any outside parties. The only people to see your messages are the friends you have selected.

 

What if I don’t want to be a lifeline or a recipient for the night?

 

To block a user, go to Settings (the very top right button on the homepage) > Availability. You can either disable being a lifeline or chat requests.

 

 

 

Balto Chat Inc. provides equal employment opportunities (EEO) to all employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability or genetics. In addition to federal law requirements, Balto Chat Inc. complies with applicable state and local laws governing nondiscrimination in employment in every location in which the company has facilities. This policy applies to all terms and conditions of employment, including recruiting, hiring, placement, promotion, termination, layoff, recall, transfer, leaves of absence, compensation and training.

 

Balto Chat Inc. expressly prohibits any form of workplace harassment based on race, color, religion, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, age, genetic information, disability, or veteran status. Improper interference with the ability of Balto Chat Inc.'s employees to perform their job duties may result in discipline up to and including discharge.

 

 

 

Balto Husky Logo
Balto Chat Logo
Rescue Logo
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon